November 16, 2020 Special Meeting

Pursuant to due call and notice thereof, a special meeting of the City Council of the City of Halstad was duly called and held on November 16, 2020 at 6:00pm.

Vice Mayor Darin Johnson called the special meeting to order at 6:11 p.m.

The following council members were present: Darin Johnson, Brandon Mickelson, Bruce Purrington, Mike Trygg

The following council members were absent: Mayor Lori DeLong

The purpose for the special meeting was announced to council attendees acting as Canvassing Board members to review abstracts from the November 3rd General Election and Special Elections. All present were observing through electronic means.

Mike Trygg suggested separate motions to approve results of the General Election and Special Elections with results if no further discussion was needed after viewing the abstracts provided by the county auditor's office.

Motion by Mike Trygg to certify results of the General Election held November 3, 2020 for:

Mayor- 201 votes for Darin Johnson; 17 other write-in votes

(2) At-Large Council members-115 votes for Donna Scholl, 114 votes for Brandon Mickelson (incumbent); Other Candidates (4) received a combined total of 184 votes; 5 other write-in votes were tallied.

Darin Johnson seconded. Roll call vote unanimous.

Motion by Mike Trygg to certify results of the Special Elections held November 3, 2020 for:

At-Large Council member- 192 votes for Mike Trygg; 9 other write-in votes Clerk/Treasurer- 196 votes for Jessica M. Spaeth; 9 other write-in votes

Bruce Purrington seconded. Roll call vote unanimous.

Motion by Mike Trygg to certify results of the Special Election held November 3, 2020 for:

City Government Structure Change

Should Optional Plan A, modifying the Standard Plan of city government by providing for the appointment by the city council of the clerk-treasurer, be adopted for the government of the city?

145 votes YES; 67 votes NO

Brandon Mickelson seconded. Roll call vote unanimous.

Clerk to notify county auditor's office of city certifications and file election results as required.

Motion to adjourn by Mike Trygg second by Bruce Purrington. Darin Johnson adjourned the Special Meeting at 6:21 pm.

Mike Trygg, City Clerk